Indian Ocean Defence Security
24-26 JULY 2024,
Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre (PCEC)


Innovation Awards Logo

A panel of innovation experts will judge the Indian Ocean Defence & Security 2024 Innovation Awards including current and former leaders from leading Australian Defence, Research and Industry organisations including Austrade, Boeing, the Centre for Defence Industry Capability, Defence Science Institute, DMTC Limited, Defence Science and Technology Group and CSIRO.

Tony Quick
Mr Tony Quick (Head Judge)


DMTC supports Australian defence capability by advancing the knowledge and technical capability of Australia’s defence industry, through collaborative research projects involving industry and research partners.

Professor Regina Crameri
Professor Regina Crameri

Senior Investment Specialist – Critical Technologies

Professor Regina Crameri graduated from the University of Technology, Sydney in Biomedical Science. She has a PhD in Exercise Science from the University of Sydney and has held teaching positions at the University of Sydney, Australia and Concordia University, Montreal, Canada.

Andrew Garth
Andrew Garth

Advocate, Advisor, and promoter of Defence SME development

Andrew currently collaborates with a small team of business consultants focussing on growing Australia’s innovative Defence SMEs. He has had an extensive multi decade Defence industry career beginning as an Aerospace engineer at BAE SYSTEMS and GKN Aerospace.

Dr Anita Hill, FTSE
Dr Anita Hill, FTSE

Honorary Fellow at CSIRO, Past Executive Director of CSIRO, Office of the Chief Executive Science Leader and Chief of CSIRO Process Science and Engineering

Dr Anita Hill is an Honorary Fellow in the Active Materials Team led by Dr Adrian Trinchi in CSIRO Manufacturing.

Previously she was an Executive Director of CSIRO. Prior to that she was an Office of the Chief Executive Science Leader and Chief of CSIRO Process Science and Engineering.

Paul C Johnson MBE, MSc, Dip Eng (AE), MAICD
Paul C Johnson MBE, MSc, Dip Eng (AE), MAICD

Former Director
AMDA Foundation Limited

Paul graduated with a Diploma in Aeronautical Engineering from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology in 1972 and with a Master of Science in Aircraft Design from Cranfield Institute of Technology (UK) in 1974.

He joined the Navy in 1963 as a Naval apprentice becoming an Aeronautical Engineering Officer holding numerous Engineering positions in the RAN’s Flight Trials Unit, aircraft squadrons and in Engineering policy roles in Canberra.

Dr Ian Sare AM FTSE
Dr Ian Sare AM FTSE

Aadi Defence Pty Ltd

Ian Sare had a career in Australia’s two largest public sector R&D organisations – CSIRO and DSTO. As Deputy Chief Defence Scientist his responsibilities at DSTO included oversight of the development of technologies underpinning military platforms in the air and maritime domains, as well as those supporting defence in chemical, biological and radiological environments.

Dr Gregor Ferguson, Ph.D
Dr Gregor Ferguson, Ph.D

Innovation Coordinator
AMDA Foundation Limited

Dr Gregor Ferguson, Ph.D is the Innovation Coordinator and founder of the Innovation Awards Program at the AMDA Foundation Limited. A former editor of Australian Defence Magazine, he now writes on defence innovation as a freelance.